Direktlänk till inlägg 9 september 2009

The Kite Runner

Av Lily Boström - 9 september 2009 21:47

I'm reading "The kite runner", a novel by the author Khaled Hosseinin.


"I became what I am today at the age of twelve, on a frigid overcast day in the winter of 1975. I remember the precise moment, crouching behind a crumbling mud wall, peeking into the alley near the frozen creek". (The kite runner, page 1).

So begins the story of Amir, which starts with a flashback on his childhood in Afghanistan before he fled to the United States. In his flashbacks the reader is allowed to see how Amir's childhood shaped him into what he is today.


Amir is a boy living with his father in 1970's Afghanistan. He is a son of a wealthy Afghan man. The father, called "Baba", does not consider Amir as a real man, but a coward who does not stand up for himself. Because of trying to get  his father's approval and love, he becomes easily jealous.

You may not know much about Amir's appearance, but you understand that he looks like an ordinary Afghan boy.



One of the most fundamental relationships in the book is between Amir and his best friend Hassan. They grew up like brothers, but they could not be more different. Amir is a Sunni Muslim, a Pashtun. Hassan is a Sh'ia Muslim, a Hazara, and his father is a servant to Amir's father. Even though there are differences, Hassan's loyalty towards Amir is really indescribable. Because of the class system in the country, Amir is morally tested in his relationship with Hassan, but he fails.

One afternoon after the local kite-fighting tournament, Amir's lack of of courage to defend his friend from local bullies, changes the destiny of their friendship.


Another important realtionship in the book is between Amir and his father. The male protagonist knows that his father put the the blame on him because of his mother's death. The father's lack of love for his son makes Amir desperate to win his father's approval. However, he looks up to his dad, but he also feels abandoned. Their relationship really shows how a bad relationship between parents and children affects a person.



After reading the first third of the novel, I have high expectations! Because of the guilt and shame Amir has for what happened that afternoon, he has to find redemption. 


(I have read pages 1-102).

 
 
Elin.N

Elin.N

10 september 2009 22:28

First of all, I’d like to say that I think you have done a great job with your first blog. In my opinion, you have described the book in an interesting way by using advanced yet very varied vocabulary, which kept me interested throughout the entire text. In addition, the blog was very well structured, which made it easy to understand. Therefore, there is no need for any clarifications.

However, I have of course noticed many differences between “The kite runner” and “Atonement“. For instance, Ian McEwan´s novel takes place in Britain during the summer of 1935, whereas “The kite runner” is about the 1970´s Afghanistan. Consequently, the novels are about completely different places with different cultures and traditions, which of course has an impact on both stories.

Even though Hosseinin´s novel is very unlike ”Atonement”, I have also observed some similarities between the two. I especially noticed that the protagonists actually are rather alike. In my opinion , both Briony and Amir come across as good people who both need to make important decisions in order to grow up and discover who they really are.

In addition, I have observed the relationship between Amir and Hassan which I believe can be compared to Robbie and Briony´s relation. In my opinion, both relationships are between two people who stay together even though they have completely different lives. As a result, both “The kite runner” and “Atonement” are about accepting people despite of their differences.

http://elinsp08k.bloggagratis.se

 
Sarah

Sarah

17 september 2009 15:51

I'm not going to write as much as Elin, because I was going to write almost the same things. You language was formal but still easy to keep up with.

I have observed the relationship between Amir and Manny, from my book, both has got a tough relationship with their fathers. However Manny doesn't care what his father thinks about him while Amir desperate tries to win his father's approval.

Well, now I almost started writing all the things Elin has already written. I'm going to try to commet before her next time!

http://sarahpriice.blogspot.com

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Lily Boström - 11 oktober 2009 21:17

Despite my doubts, the novel The Kite Runner turned out to be an amazingly good book. As a matter of fact, Khaled Hosseini’s novel proved to be one of the few books that has touched me. I am happy that I have read this fantastic novel, and I ...

Av Lily Boström - 27 september 2009 16:42

Second part (pages 102-207). By reading The Kite Runner, the westerner truly gets an insight into the Afghan society. The Afghan class system consists primarily of two groups, a majority of the people are pashtun and a minority are hazara. The g...

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<<<
September 2009 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards